Pyrex Pie

Apple pie is an American tradition as old as the country itself…and also one that probably lends a big hand to the obesity epidemic in our country. My husband loves apple pie and my son will probably grow up to as well. And when the weather is as dreary as it has been these last few days here at home what better to do than bake a pie? Now, this isn’t a baking blog. It’s a Pyrex blog. And Pyrex is made for baking-so let’s get started on some pie!

Apples in yellow 300 bowl

First thing you’ll need is crust which you can either make or buy at any grocery store. For this pie, I made my own crust. All you need to make your own is 1 ¼ cup flour, ½ cup butter diced  (or shortening, depending on what your mother told you growing up) ¼ salt and ¼ cold water. Mix the flour, salt and butter together until the mixture is crumbly, then slowly add the water a tablespoon at a time. After each tablespoon knead the dough gently. Once all the water is mixed in wrap the dough in plastic wrap or a zip-lock bag with all of the air pressed out. Let chill for at least an hour before using. Be sure to preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

Sorry the diced butter is washed out..This is the set up for making your crust

Next is the real fun part: the apples. For this pie my husband picked out Paula Red apples since they are in season now. Peel and core anywhere from 6 to 8 apples depending on the size of your pie. The one that I made is a nine inch so I only used 6 apples. Next, cut the apples into decent size slices. A lot of recipes will give you instructions on how thick to cut the pieces but I say use your best judgment. Just keep in mind you’ll be covering this pie. Once peeled and cored place the waiting apples in your favorite Pyrex bowl. I chose my recently acquired yellow 300 bowl from roughly 1957.

Sliced apples in yellow 300 bowl

Now the sweet stuff! Add in ¾ cups of sugar followed by 2 or 3 tablespoons of all purpose flour, after that 1 tablespoon lemon juice, ½ teaspoon cinnamon and a pinch of salt. Okay, maybe lemon juice and salt aren’t sweet stuff but when it all comes together: fireworks.

Apple mixture

After your pie crust has chilled for at least an hour remove it from the refrigerator and roll it out. This may require a little flour on the rolling pin or surface. Once rolled out lay in the pie dish. This dish I chose to use for this pie is a 9 inch Pyrex pie pan. It is old…but I have no idea how old.

Spoon in "the goods"

Cover the pie

I like to add a little butter to the top crust and then sprinkle some cinnamon and sugar on top.  Also, be sure to cut slits in the top of your pie crust for venting.

Bake for 30 minutes at 425 then reduce to 350 for another 30 to 45 minutes. You’ll know your pie is finished when the juices from the filling begins to bubble through the cut vents. The pie will need to rest for at least four hours before eating so that it may cool completely and the filling can thicken properly.

Once it is fully cooled-Enjoy! Enjoy for dessert…or breakfast, or lunch, or even dinner. After all, it’s your pie!

Finished product

And, I have to say, of all the pies I’ve made-this is by far the best. I will never again buy a store made crust. But won’t judge if you chose to for your own pie. Below is a picture of the pie pan I used before I put said pie in it. If any other collectors see this and know what time it is from better than myself please don’t hesitate to let me know. Next year I plan to enter an apple pie at our towns fair. My husband says, “there needs to be a lot of apple pie making between now and then…you know, to perfect it.” You can read about our day at this years fair on my mothers blog,  A Day at the Fair.

* also, the title of today’s post was thought of my husband, Joe.

4 Comments

Filed under Apple pie, Pyrex

4 responses to “Pyrex Pie

  1. That’s one pretty pie! Thanks for the link!

  2. Amy

    Nice Job once again Sarah! Keep it going!

  3. Sara

    That makes me want a pie now thanks. When the apple orchard opens please send me some fresh apples so that I too may make a pie.

  4. linda Leslie

    Beautiful pie, Sarah. I was taught to cut the second crust in strips, about 3/4 inch, and interlace them over the top. Takes a few more minutes but looks good. You can sprinkle the top with a little sugar, it adds to the “look”. Have a good day. LYB

Leave a Reply

