Apple Cake

Sorry for the delay in posting, folks. Things in Wonderland have been busy, rainy, and exhausting. With a constantly on the move eight month old, workers tearing up our roof,  and a kitten who seems to be pouncing on everything-life is a non-stop circus. But I did get a great break last Friday when my mother and brother came up to visit (this was a break because I had someone other than Joe to hand the baby off to). Since the fall weather has been so perfect as of late we had started planning an apple picking day. You can read about our adventure on my moms blog, http://mylittlerhodeislandcorner.wordpress.com. Once we got home I started thinking of things to do with our fresh apples. What would be best? Let me tell you…this will be a three-part blog.
And it starts with cake…
Apple cake has always been my step-mothers dish. She usually makes it Christmas morning for breakfast along with some breakfast pizza. She, however, uses a mix for the actual cake portion of her apple cake. I stopped believing in mixes as soon as I figured out how easily I could make cake from the things in my cabinet. Here is the first part!
The cake:
1 cup oil (veggie)
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 t. vanilla extract
1 t. salt
1 t. baking soda
2 t. baking powder
2 1/2 cup flour
3 cups of chopped apples

For the cake: beat oil, sugar, eggs and vanilla together.

Wet ingredients in yellow 300 bowl

blend in dry ingredients then stir in the apples

Dry ingredients mixed in

Press into a buttered 13 x9 cake pan.
Mental note for next time: slice the apples a little thinner. My little bear was very clingy so I simply chopped them with my new apple corer  (thanks, mommy).
Topping:
1/3 cups brown sugar, packed
1 t. cinnamon
1/2 c nuts, chopped (I did not put nuts in my toppings…because I hate nuts)

Cake with topping ready to bake!

For baking: Combine all topping ingredients and sprinkle over the cake. bake at 350 for 35 to 45 minutes.
Now, I know, this is my PYREX blog…but, I don’t have a Pyrex cake sheet. So I used my Better Homes and Garden one.

Vanilla sauce for EXTRA topping:
1 cup sugar
2 T flour
1 1/2 whipping cream
1/2 cup butter
2 T vanilla extract
For the sauce: Blend sugar and flour together in a saucepan on medium heat then whisk in whipping cream. Add butter, whisking often until thickened. Once thicker, add vanilla

Vanilla sauce cooking

Drizzle over the top of the cake while both are still warm.

 

Finished cake

According to Joe, it tasted like coffee cake with apples when cold. When warm, it has a completely different taste. One, that, to be honest, tastes like Christmas morning should. Being almost as big a Christmas junkie as I am a Pyrex freak this cake really brought together two of my favorite things.
Make this cake and share it with friends! They’ll thank you and keep coming back for more!

4 Comments

Filed under Baking, Fall, Pyrex

4 responses to “Apple Cake

  1. Oh, boy does that look good. Sounds like a great recipe to take to a potluck.

  2. I read about your adventure; what a great day you all had! Now for this cake, that vanilla sauce really puts it over the top!! I’m a Christmas junkie too but I won’t be able to wait until Christmas to try this out!

Leave a Reply

