Fresh Pumpkin Bread by Pyrex


As promised, my first loaf of fresh made pumpkin bread. All done in, of course, my beloved Pyrex dishes! I’m so excited to share with you all so let’s get started right away!
I called my mom the other day to help me better understand a pumpkin bread recipe I found…the outcome: find a new one. She told me to roast the pumpkin first then scoop the guts out (or the meat, if you’re in less of a Halloween mood than I am).

I halved my pumpkin as the recipe I was now following said that cutting it in half would do for roasting and not to worry about cutting it into quarters.


Next, scoop out the seeds and stringy parts. I didn’t get nearly as much of the strings out as I should have, which made mashing later a little tricky. So remember when you’re doing yours to get as much out as possible.

Roast your pumpkin half for 45-1 hour at 350. Remove from the oven and let cool completely before scooping out the meaty parts.

 

Me, smashing pumpkins

If your pumpkin has sort of coconut consistency than its okay to add water for easier/better mashing. I also added about a tablespoon of warmed butter. Because everything could use a little extra butter, right? For this I used my large Terra mixing bowl. Since a roasted pumpkin makes a lot of puree I figured I would use one of the largest bowls I have. It was a good call.

Once you’ve got a puree to the consistency that you like take out the amount needed for your given recipe. For this one, it only took one cup. The rest can be frozen and used at a later date for something else yummy….maybe some Pumpkin cheesecake? Here is the breakdown for what you need to make this delicious loaf!
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 cup Sugar
1 1/2 cup Flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1/4 cup water
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon all spice
1/2 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon baking soda
Now, measurements are nice…but I didn’t follow them at least as far as the spices go. As long as you use your good sense and don’t put in a cup of nutmeg, a little more than half a teaspoon isn’t going to hurt the bread.

My other largest bowl, the yellow 300. Faithful friends, these big Pyrex bowls are!

 

All mixed up

Once everything is mixed and your oven is preheated to 350 prepare your 9 x 5 x 3 pan with butter, grease or baking spray.


Bake for 50-60 minutes or until tooth pick (I use a plastic chop stick because whenever we buy picks they end up lost) comes out clean.

All finished and ready to eat!

Let it cool some then turn out onto a wire rack to finish cooling. For my first loaf of pumpkin bread I believe this came out great. It was dense, had a very rich pumpkin taste and didn’t taste at all “out of a can.” I don’t think we notice how fake certain foods taste until we start to use the real thing. If I were to make an almost-new-year-resolution it would be to use less cans and box food in my kitchen.

Wish me luck. I will always have a huge soft spot for Kraft mac n cheese!

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Baking, Fall, Pyrex

4 responses to “Fresh Pumpkin Bread by Pyrex

  1. linda Leslie

    I can almost smell it!!! Looks great, I’m sure it tastes great! Warm pumpkin break spread with cream cheese is super!!

Leave a Reply

