Mom needs a moment…and cornbread

How many moms read my blog? I know of at least two-my mother and grandmother-and I’m sure there are others. To all of those other moms let me tell a story that I’m sure you know all too well.
Your day starts at 5:30 with a little boy (or girl) who wakes up fully charged and ready to go so up you get only half as ready. Coffee. Breakfast for the kiddo and you’re already wondering when he’ll go down for a nap. The hours start to drift by without even a glimpse of a nap. Husband is, in my case, sleeping for work (most other people’s husband would be at work-but mine works 3rd shift) and is unable to take the baby for a few minutes. By noon, baby is clingy and sleepy but unwilling to give in to a nap. By two, you’re on the verge of crying as much as he is because you’re both ready for a good break. And then, he crashes and you can breathe again. In the back of your mind a screaming voice says BAKE SOMETHING BEFORE YOU LOSE IT!
Skillet Cornbread from the one and only Paula Deen. Normally, this woman scares me but my mother in law bought me her Southern Cooking Bible for Christmas and I’ve really fallen in love with it. Despite my distaste for most things southern, the one thing I will always love is the cooking (in small amounts, of course..my butt is big enough). I picked cornbread because it was about 5 degrees outside that day and from what I read in Ms. Deen’s recipe, it seemed like a quick dish that could be finished before the little man woke up. Shall we begin on our cornbread adventure?!

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. In a 9 inch cast iron skillet melt down 1/4 cup of lard or shortening and be sure to coat the edges of the pan as you will be baking your bread in this!


Mix together in your favorite Pyrex bowl 2 cups cornmeal, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon baking soda and 1 teaspoon of salt. Set aside. I chose Butterfly Gold because…well, golden cornbread from a golden butterfly..it was silly but I needed silly that afternoon.
In a smaller bowl whisk together two large eggs and 1 cup of buttermilk.

Combine the two mixtures together then fold in the melted shortening.

Allow to cook for about 25 minutes or when it is firm to the touch and a pretty golden color. Paula says serve warm…I cut myself a wedge right out to go with my much-needed cup of coffee.


To warp up the story from earlier: my boy woke up at 4 and did not go back down until nearly 9 and it is now his pattern. I’ve been a tired lady as of late…our kitchen is also “under construction” while we wait for a NEW new bookshelf for the Pyrex. While trying to assemble the new one we bought with Christmas money, Joe noticed they gave us the wrong parts…so our new one won’t be in until Saturday. There is Pyrex all over the table and no space to really do much so if the next post isn’t for a few more days than you know why. No room to breath! Don’t believe me? Check it out…

On the table...

Two on the table shots..

UNDER the table even!

See what I mean? No room! Pray for us, folks.

4 Comments

Filed under Antique, Baking, Pyrex, Vintage

4 responses to “Mom needs a moment…and cornbread

  1. Great post, Butterfly!
    Wishing you a speedy remedy to your kitchen Chaos!

  2. Linda Leslie

    Having experienced days like you describe, I understand….. completely!!! The cornbread sounds really good. It takes an iron skillet for it to brown just right. I’m happy to know that maybe you spent a bit of what I sent you on the kitchen. Hope it is all done soon. LYB

Leave a Reply

