Cheesecake: Brought to You by Pyrex!

I don’t believe I have ever met a person who doesn’t enjoy a nice piece of cheesecake from time to time. Nor do I think I ever wish to meet such a person-unless I already know them and love them then its okay.
The family and I recently took a trip to see Joe’s grandmother in Sturbridge. I had promised her some maple walnut cookies in exchange for a sewing machine which I fully intend to learn to use. The weather was nasty out so I thought what better way to spend the day than baking and spending time with family. When we arrived she had more than a sewing machine for me-a copy of The Help (which I have been DYING to read), a book about sewing, Christmas crafts and so exciting for me-another copy of the Gooseberry Patch Christmas book! My mother bought me a few before Christmas this past year and I fell so in love with the series that when Grammy presented me with this new copy I was over the moon. And what sat on the cover? a piece of chocolate chip cheesecake. Despite not being Christmas I wanted to make it and wouldn’t you know cream cheese was on sale!
While fed the Niko lunch, Joe did his fatherly duty of scrapping the innards of the Oreos out and crushing the cookie parts up for a crust.

To crush up the cookies we used a plain potato masher and our beloved Design bowl. The Design bowl was my first actual Pyrex purchase at the Brimfeild flea market. I spent 7 dollars on it. And no, Kim, I’m totally not rubbing that in!

Helping, clearly!

After you have your cookie bits crushed up pour 1/4 cup melted butter over them and add in 1/4 cup of sugar. Mix well with your hands than pat into the bottom of a slightly greased spring form pan.

Set that aside. Next, you’ll need to haul out your biggest and favorite Pyrex mixing bowl. I chose to use my large yellow 300 bowl because (I am so very clever here, folks) it is yellow and cheesecake tends to be a slightly off yellow color. Clever, right? Right…? You get it.

In your large bowl you’ll want to combine three 8 oz packs of cream cheese and 1 cup of sugar.

Mix it all up! One thing we have discovered is that Niko hates, hates the sound of the mixer. I even had Joe take him into the living room to see if that would be better. It wasn’t. The poor child cried like I have never heard him cry. I turned it off and let Joe show the boy what it was and that didn’t help either. I needed to get the mixing done as quickly as possible, obviously.

Add in three eggs

Followed by 1 cup sour cream and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Then pour into your spring form pan

This is the way to make a basic cheesecake so if that’s what you’re looking for, feel free to disregard the rest of the this post. But please don’t because it gets better!
Next we’ve got the ingredients for our cookie dough parts. Since I didn’t want to further upset the baby, I did the mixing by hand this time.

In my smaller yellow 300 bowl I put together 1/4 cup of butter (melted) and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Mix together then add in 1 teaspoon of vanilla and slowly add in 1/2 cup of flour. The recipe calls for mini chocolate chips but we only had standard sized ones.

It should look something like this. Mini cookie dough! Once its ready, roll into little balls and plop into your waiting cheesecake.

Smooth out the top of your cake pop it in to the waiting oven. It should be preheated at 350 degrees.

The recipe also says to wait until your cake is cooked and totally cooled before topping it with more chocolate chips but Joe wanted some to melt on the top of the cake while it baked.
The end result?

Pretty, isn’t she?! And my oh my was she a tasty girl.
Today we are getting ready for a snow storm that will be here tomorrow morning so stay tuned for a post about whatever bread product I end up making. I would love to know if any of you folks end up trying this recipe! Oh, and a big thank you to Grammy for the book that made it possible.

5 Comments

Filed under Antique, Baking, Pyrex, Vintage

5 responses to “Cheesecake: Brought to You by Pyrex!

  1. Excellent! Good to see you’re making use of your apron, too!
    Niko will get used to the mixer – there’s no other way to make good cheesecake!

  2. Linda Leslie

    Great post!!! I need details….. the date of this experience and was the picture of Niko made at his Grammy’s or at home? It would be nice to have a picture of him with her the next time you go visit them. Have a fun day.. LYB

  3. gram adams

    So glad you are enjoying the books. The cheesecake looks affinities and I want some..lol..I enjoyed our visit too. May we have more? Love ya lots, grams

Leave a Reply

