The Best Rolls Ever. Ever.

In the last post I mentioned that I had found the perfect recipe for rolls and my mother asked me for the recipe. So today I will sharing it with you all with the help of my favorite Pyrex dishes!
Start by getting out two bowls: a large one to do your mixing in and a smaller one so that the dough can raise.

I chose my Balloon promotional bowl for the actual mixing and the black and white Gooseberry Cinderella bowl for the raising. In the Balloon bowl pictured above I have dissolved 1 pack of yeast in 1 1/2 cups of warm water.


With your mixer add two cups of your flour of choice-I used plain white flour because like most things in my kitchen it was on sale! Slowly add to the mixture: 1/4 cup sugar, 3/4 teaspoon salt, 1 egg and 1/3 cup shortening. If you are not a fan of sweet dough like my husband tends to be reduce the sugar and add a little more salt. Use your best judgment since you know what people in your home love most!

It will end up looking something like this.
Next, you will add in 2 more cups of flour by hand and knead for about 4 minutes. Place in your smaller bowl which should be lightly greased/oiled.

Allow to rise until doubled in size. Form in to rolls and place into a muffin tin.

Allow to rise again for about half an hour to 45 minutes then place in your 375 degree oven for about 10 – 12 minutes

How fluffy! How pretty! And oh how tasty they really are…I did not do an egg wash on them this second time I made them but maybe the third time I will. As Joe put it, “These are the rolls I’ve been dreaming of…”
There ya have it, folks. Thanks to Pyrex I’ve made a dream of my husbands come true!

2 Comments

Filed under Baking, Cinderella Bowl, Pyrex, Vintage

2 responses to “The Best Rolls Ever. Ever.

  1. Love the recipe, Butterfly. Those are some pretty, puffy rolls!

  2. Linda Leslie

    Beautiful rolls, Sarah.

Leave a Reply

