Peanut Butter Brownies

Today we are starting with a quick quiz…
Who doesn’t love Pyrex?
Now, who doesn’t love brownies in Pyrex?
And lastly, who doesn’t love peanut butter?
If you’ve answered all of these questions correctly (and yes, there is a correct way to answer these questions) then boy oh boy do I have a fun post for you today.

Start with your basic brownies. Combine in your favorite Pyrex bowl-I chose my black and white Gooseberry- 1 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup vegetable oil and two eggs. Mix together. I chose to do this by hand today because I couldn’t stand to hear my monkey cry over the noise it makes.

Have I told anyone how much I LOVE my rubber spatula? For sure one of my favorite Christmas gifts. Next you’re going to add in 1/2 cup of flour, 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder, 1/4 teaspoon baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon salt and optional walnuts.

Like I said, super basic brownies. Now for the peanut butter brownie layer!
Pick out another favorite Pyrex dish-this time I chose Autumn Harvest because I feel like I haven’t used it in months.
Beat (or mix in my case) 2/3 cup of butter and 1 cup of peanut butter. Once smooth slowly mix in 1 cup packed brown sugar and 2 cups white sugar. This should become nice and fluffy! Add 4 eggs each one at a time mixing in between. Add in 2 cups flour followed by 2 teaspoons baking powder and 1 teaspoon vanilla.

Now, the fun begins. Once you’ve got your two batters made up and a 9×9 dish prepared…well, see for yourself…

layer one…

layer two..

All in all, I believe we had 4 layers of brownie.

Then topped with walnuts! Now, I put the oven at 350 and started off the timer at about 25 minutes. Yeah, not long enough…so I put another 15 on the clock…not enough…another 19…not enough. Finally, Joe couldn’t take the smell anymore and said to just pull them out and said he’d eat them regardless of doneness. My man-always taking one for the team. Though they didn’t cook totally in the center they still came out amazing

As you can see, they aren’t lasting too long here despite their richness. Also, due to the fact our house is about the flooded with sweets baking. My sons first birthday is Thursday so I’ve got cupcakes…then baking a chocolate pie and oatmeal drop cookies (okay you don’t bake those) for my father as payment for doing our taxes this weekend. Then a Superbowl dessert! Madness I tell you, madness!

5 Comments

Filed under Baking, Baking With Pyrex, Pyrex, Vintage

5 responses to “Peanut Butter Brownies

  1. Linda Leslie

    I can imagine how good your house smells!! Your little guy sure is sensitive to loud sounds. Uncle Jody was like that, too. I hope you have a wonderful birthday party tomorrow. Please give your dad a hug for me, and anyone else that I know there… your mom, Laura, James, etc. Love you!!

  2. Sara Steinmetz

    Make Joe start walking some of those treats off,last time I saw him he was putting on the pounds and I would hate to say “you look like your father” when I visit in July lol

  3. Can I just say Yummy Yummy Yum!!!! Those look amazing!!!!!!!!!

  4. These look amazing, I’m definitely going to try them! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment