S’More Pie

I need to begin this blog with a very person (and somewhat painful) revelation about myself: I am never going to be skinny again. I do not blame this on my having a baby as some women chose to do…I blame it on my husband and his sweet tooth! Kidding, of course, Joey. But his sweet tooth does lead to him pushing me to expand my baking skills for which I am very thankful. A few days ago I posted on FaceBook that I was going to make S’More pie and got an overwhelming response to the idea. What is the twist? No store-bought marshmallow or pudding here! Everything homemade and full of love (and calories).
We’re going to start todays Baking with Alice session with the marshmallow. Note: you will need a candy thermometer.
Start with a basic meringue.
3 egg whites
2 tablespoons of sugar


Whip these together with an electric mixer until soft peaks begin to form. As I proudly told my mom, it was the best meringue I’ve ever made. After its finished, set aside.
In a saucepan mix together:
1/3 cup water
3/4 cups light corn syrup
2/3 cups sugar

Cook over medium heat until the mixture reaches 264 or forms what is known as a “firm ball.” Thankfully, my candy thermometer had a little bar for that!

Start your mixer on low and begin to pour your sugar mixture over it. Once all of the mixture is in with the meringue kick the mixer up to high for about 5 to 6 minutes.

Set that aside and its time to start your pudding!
In a heavy saucepan combine the following:
1 cup of sugar
1/2 cup of coca powder
1/2 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
Whisk it all together so that there are no lumps. Then slowly add in 3 cups of milk then cook over medium heat until thick-stir constantly! Turn the burner to low for 2 minutes. Remove 1 cup of the pudding and add to 4 lightly beaten egg yolks. Mix well then return to the larger pan. Bring back to a gentle boil for 2 minutes. Remove from heat and add in 6 tablespoons of butter and 1 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.

Pour into your crust. Which, for this recipe is a graham cracker crust with carmel on top.

Add your marshmallow topping…

Bake at 350 until the marshmallow has a nice golden color.



It was rich, tasty, and the perfect way to end our meal. It is not a dish I think we’ll be making too often though seeing as it is slightly time-consuming and butt enlarging but from time to time I think it will be nice to make for company.

2 Comments

Filed under Antique, Baking With Pyrex, Pyrex, Using Pyrex

2 responses to “S’More Pie

  1. I see the Family Pudding Pan is once again put into service!
    Nice recipe.

Leave a Reply

