5k Cake

So, my lovely readers, whom I love so much-we have reached 5 THOUSAND VIEWS! You like me, you really like me! Or my Pyrex…but hopefully it is in some part me. So to celebrate this special milestone I baked (are you really surprised?) And I want to share with you!
Today we are going to make a Texas Sheet Cake from the Joy Of Cooking by Irma Rombauer. Side note, I would like to thank my step father for buying me this cook book. It was my very first big cook book and I’ve found so many of my favorite recipes in it. So, thanks John!
Start out by grabbing your favorite-and largest-Pyrex mixing bowl. I chose my large Terra bowl. In it you’ll want to sift together the following:
2 cups sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

Then set aside.
In a small sauce pan comebine:
1 cup water
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 stick (8 tablespoons) of butter
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder.

Bring to a boil then pour over the dry mixture. Stir until smooth.
In another bowl, lightly beat 2 large eggs. Then add 1/2 cup of buttermilk and 1 teaspoon of vanilla

Then stir in your newest mixture and you have batter! Pour into a 13 x 9 pan and bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes.

Now, I couldn’t just make a plain chocolate cake. It needed a little something..so I consulted with my second in comand. He wanted peanut butter frosting. So, I made it.

This is my Horizon Blue bowls maiden recipe (at least in my house it is).
In the bowl, soften a stick of butter. Then add…
2 cups of powdered sugar
1 cup of peanut butter
3 tablespoons of milk

Thankfully, after years of making Oatmeal Drop Cookies I can eyeball a cup of peanut butter pretty well. You’ll start your mixer on low because you don’t want a face full of powdered sugar…or do you? I hope not. It will come together pretty quickly if you’ve softened the butter enough. I did forget to take a photo of the finished frosting…but I do have the end result!

OH! I almost forgot…I crushed up some graham crackers and spread them on top.
I hope you all take the time to make this cake.

light and you won’t feel too guilty having a piece or two in a day.
Thank you again for making the 5k Cake possible…maybe in another 5 thousand views I’ll make something really crazy. Maybe something from another great cook book I own by one Julia Child. Pyrex and Julia Child? Oi vey!

3 Comments

Filed under Antique, Baking With Pyrex, Using Pyrex, Vintage

3 responses to “5k Cake

  1. Wonderful post, Butterfly!
    Congrats on your milestone!

  2. Linda Leslie

    Five Thousand!! WoW, that’s impressive. I’ve heard that Joy of Cooking is very good. Your cake sounds great. Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

