Bacon Brownies

Last month our friends band, Severants, went on a pretty big tour and we hosted them before they left for a going away cook out. Joe said to me, “You should make them a special and super manly dessert.” So I thought bacon. And then…brownies. It was a hit and soon even my own mother was asking for the recipe. So I’m here today to bring it to you-with Pyrex, of course!
First, get out your beloved Pyrex bowl of choice. I picked my Blue Horizon bowl because I felt that it needed a little more air time. Also, set your oven to 350 for preheating.

In it you’ll want to combine 1 2/3 cups of sugar, 3/4 cups of MELTED butter, and 2 tablespoons of water.

I used my shallow Amish Butterprint Cinderella dish to melt the butter. Felt like she needed the props.

Next add in 2 large eggs and 2 teaspoons vanilla extract. Mix well.

In another bowl combine 3/4 cups cocoa powder, 1 1/3 cups flour, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Once well mixed, stir into the sugar mixture.

Yummy right? But not ready for baking yet!

Cook up some bacon! The first time I made this I used a thick cut maple wood smoked bacon and the difference was pretty clear this time around. I suggest finding the best cuts you can. These did the trick. Cook them until they’re pretty crispy and chop accordingly…I say accordingly because you know the people you’re baking for. If they only want little nibbles of bacon with each bite then make sure they’re finally chopped..if they’re like my neighbor and want nice chunks of bacon then leave them big.

Now…I don’t have a picture for this next step..and feel free to pass…but, I put two tablespoons of the bacon fat in the batter. It was a spur of the moment idea inspired by a bread recipe I plan to make around Christmas time.

Pour your batter into your greased 9 x 13 pan and bake!
I somehow managed to miss getting a picture of the finished brownies. But like any other baked good you’ll know they’re ready when you can stick a tooth pick in the center and they come up clean.
I have to say they’re great brownies and especially if you’ve got a bacon addict in the family. You may notice that I didn’t use a 9x 13 Pyrex dish to bake them in and I should explain..Every time I’ve made brownies in the Pyrex dishes the edges don’t come out right. I know that baking glass is much different from metal and with brownies it shows. I don’t want anyone to break a tooth on something I bake so I just went ahead and used the metal dish.
I hope the Pyrex Gods don’t punish me…

2 Comments

Filed under Antique, Baking, Baking With Pyrex, Pyrex, Using Pyrex, Vintage

2 responses to “Bacon Brownies

  1. Looks good, Butterfly!
    I’ll re-blog it next week on my site, if that’s ok….

Leave a Reply

