Red Ribbon Apple Pie

I can officially call myself a baker now as I have recently won a red ribbon (second place) for my Apple Pie! Seeing as I wasn’t even expecting to place this was a huge surprise and not to sound mushy…but kind of a blessing. I am always questioning if I am really as good as I think I am and now I have a little bit of validation. Today, I will be sharing with you my official award-winning pie recipe!
Start with the crust-I think I’ve said it before but make your own! It’s so easy and takes only minutes.

In a large yellow Pyrex mixing bowl put 2 1/2 cups of flour 1 teaspoon of sugar and 1 teaspoon sugar. Mix all the dry ingredients together.

Then add 1 cup of solid vegetable shortening and mix with a pastry blender. Keep on hand 1/3 cups of ice-cold water (add in 1 or 2 tablespoons of extra water) because as you blend the dough you will add in water. This will start to bind everything together and using your best judgement stop using the pastry blender and begin to knead lightly with your hands.

Pack into a ball and place in a plastic bag or wrap in plastic wrap. Let it chill at least an hour but for this pie I let it sit an entire day.
Now…onto the pie.

Peel and core 5-6 Paula Red apples. Yes, Paula Red apples. Most people will tell you that these are not good for pies but I just think they’re wrong. When I use these the pies always come out amazing.

Next, add in 3 tablespoons of flour, 1 tablespoon brown sugar, 3/4 cups sugar, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon all spice and a 1/2 teaspoon salt.
I’m sure some of you are thinking “Wait! You didn’t put any lemon juice in!” Well…

Squeeze half a lemon into your mixture-but not the entire lemon. If you are using lemon juice from a bottle then use about half a teaspoon.
Toss the apples with your hands and allow them to soak up all those spices and yummieness for about 5-7 minutes. While they rest start to roll out your dough. I took more time with this dough than ever because I knew it would be judged on its appearance.

She looks ready but not yet! I like to add a little something special to the top crust.

Sprinkle the top with cinnamon and sugar then coat with melted butter. Oh yeah, I did that. Now she is ready for the oven.
For 30 minutes bake at 425 then reduce to 350. You’ll want to slip a baking sheet under the pie pan so that when the juices begin to bubble out and over they don’t make a huge mess in your oven. Bake at 350 for another half an hour until the juices are just over flowing with amazingness.

There she is…My little winner. I’m so proud. But oddly…not as proud as I am of my husband…but that is another story!

2 Comments

Filed under Apple pie, Baking, Baking With Pyrex, Pyrex

2 responses to “Red Ribbon Apple Pie

  1. Olivia Rogers

    Congratulations again, Sarah. I am SO proud of you! Check your recipe. You mentioned a tsp of sugar twice…. did you mean to do that???? Wish I could be there to taste your pie, especially that wonderful sounding crust!! Love you bunches!

Leave a Reply

