Joe, Joe, The Muffin Man!

My husband doesn’t bake…In fact, I told him once that if he ever tried to move in on my baking territory I would divorce him. But I changed my tune a little when he said he wanted to try baking something for the Spencer Fair. He picked something simple: Strawberry Muffins. Well…those little muffins came home with a blue ribbon! A shock and happy surprise for all of us-but especially him!
Preheat your oven to 375 and grease or place muffin cups in your muffin tin.

In a small bowl (he used the tan Rainbow Stripe bowl) mix together 1/4 cup canola oil, 1/2 cup milk, and one egg. Blend well then add in 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. Set aside.

In a separate bowl you’ll blend together your dry ingredients. 2 tablespoons baking powder, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1 3/4 cups flour, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.
Go over to your handy-dandy cutting board and chop about a cup and half of strawberries.


Drop them into the dry mixture.
Add your wet to the dry and stir until well combined.

Then bake for about 25 minutes or until a tooth pick comes clean form the center. Then, in our case, put them on a plate and in a baggie and send them to the judges table!
Wait 48 hours…and…

Photo Credit to my mama

Shazam! Winning muffins! As I believe I said before I am happy to have won my red ribbon for the apple pie…but I am over the moon happy for my hubby taking first place.He really is one of those people who can look at something and think “I bet I can do that,” and does it near perfect the first time. A side example of that is that he is currently outside sanding down the top of an old sewing machine cabinet to make it into a butcher’s block.

What a man I’ve got.

2 Comments

Filed under Baking, Baking With Pyrex, Fall, Pyrex, Using Pyrex, Vintage

2 responses to “Joe, Joe, The Muffin Man!

  1. YAY JOEY!!!
    I hope you find a place to display your ribbons, once you’re all moved in!

  2. Linda Leslie

    I am SO proud of you, Joey!! Having seen pictures of pieces of furniture that you have worked on…. well, I’ll bet you can do anything!!

Leave a Reply

