Molasses Bread

How many of you have gone to the Cheesecake Factory and had that amazing dark wheat bread they give you? Oh man do we love it…especially my picky husband. He asked me the other day, do you think you could find a recipe for that? Well, I did thanks to Rea Gun Ramblings! Mine didn’t come out nearly as yummy looking as hers did but it was my first time making it, after all. I’ve had friends chomping at the bit to get the recipe so let’s just get started!
In a large mixing bowl combine 3/4 cups warm water and 1 teaspoon of instant coffee. Once the coffee is dissolved, add half a packet (1 1/8 teaspoons) of yeast.

When the yeast bubbles, add in the following: 1/2 TBS sugar, 1/2 TBS coca, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 TBS oil. Gently combine then add in 1 1/8 cups of flour and 1/4 cup of molasses.


Begin to knead gently. The girl over at Rea Gun was right-this dough is so soft and fluffy! It was a joy to knead. She suggests only putting in half the flour with the molasses but I didn’t find an issue doing it all at once-my phone froze so I didn’t have the recipe in sight. Allow the dough to rise/double in size. You can either roll them into rolls or prepare it into a loaf as I did. After 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees you get…

This! Only…I’m sure yours won’t be missing two slices. I will say that the bread tasted much better warm than cool. Once it was cooled it tasted much sweeter. Not sure why, maybe I flubbed something somewhere. Who knows! Either way, bread is always better warm.

1 Comment

Filed under Antique, Baking With Pyrex, Pyrex, Using Pyrex, Vintage

One response to “Molasses Bread

  1. Sounds SO yummy…
    I love that bread, too!

Leave a Reply

