Everyone Needs A Little Help…

 

 

In these crazy holiday months baking can get away from me…Thankfully, I have a wonderful little man who has almost over night decided to help in the kitchen!  If I am mixing anything he reaches up and demands to, “Help! Help!” So what is a mama to do but pick him up and let him help?

182375_10151370948557448_2088941745_n

Yesterday we made some simple peanut butter cookies. Yes, I trust him using my beloved Pyrex bowl! How will he learn how amazing they are if he doesn’t get to use them? Also, if you are a collector who has children that want to “play” with your dishes- allowing them to use them seems to show them that they have jobs that don’t involve becoming drums. Now, the recipe isn’t anything fancy or special…actually, I grabbed it off of Simply Recipes. Here is the recipe that they so wonderfully shared with the world!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Beat the butter until creamy, 2 minutes. Add the sugars, beat for 2 more minutes. Mix in the peanut butter and egg. Mix together the dry ingredients – flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Stir the dry ingredients into the sugar butter mixture. Then wrap dough in plastic and refrigerate at least 3 hours. I left ours in the fridge over night…mostly because my little helper and I had a throw down over bed time and when it was over I was exhausted.

Once you’re dough is chilled take it from the wrapping and roll it into balls, slightly flatten with your hand then further flatten with a fork. Gives it that nice finished look. While I did that…I set my little chef to his own kitchen3506_10151372456057448_212148479_n

Once he saw me taking his picture he took out his wooden spoon, put it in his mouth and said “Mmmm!Yumm!” Then offered me a bite. I love the blossoming appreciation for cooking he is learning early on. And if all goes as planned…we may be able to start a small garden in the spring. Plenty of little kids around us now who will want fresh food! I don’t have a picture of the finished cookies…But rest assured, they are in the Pyrex Cookie Jar in the kitchen!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Antique, Baking With Pyrex, Pyrex, Using Pyrex

2 responses to “Everyone Needs A Little Help…

  1. I love this post!
    And not just because I love that kid!

  2. linda Leslie

    You are an amazing mom, Sarah. And you have an amazing kid. Pictures are great!!

Leave a Reply

