A Little Chocolate Shop..

IMG_20121129_141639Slowly, my kitchen has becoming more and more like a sweets-shop. Right before we moved, I was gifted some chocolate molds by my mother in laws (and I can say she is my friend now as well) friend, Stacy. Stacy also gave us our first kitchen table and chairs…she is really an angle. But, I digress. Once I put the molds away I didn’t think of them much until I bought the double boiler from Linda a few months ago. Since money was tight then we didn’t have the extra money for buying melting chocolate…but, the holidays are upon us and that gave us the motivation to give it a try. It was then we realized how absolutely simple it was to make pretty little candies!

Sadly, I have no idea where the picture of using the double boiler. I know I took a few…but they are no where to be found. So, I’ll just explain it. Get yourself a bag of chocolate melts from a craft store or a department store with a craft section. They tend to run about 3 dollars a bag. Fill the bottom of your boiler so the water level is just below the second boiler. Bring the water to a boil and shut off the heat, add chocolate. Stir gently until the chocolate is smooth. Spoon or pipe into your molds. Do not grease the molds! Allow to set up in a cool area for a few minutes. We let ours cool on the counter for a few minutes then pop them in the fridge…Ready to see some?

IMG_20121127_114515IMG_20121203_163208Pretty neat, huh?

Oh…I might want to mention..Joe is also making hard candies now. But that may be another post!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Using Pyrex

2 responses to “A Little Chocolate Shop..

  1. linda Leslie

    Cool!!! You give good directions.

  2. If you leave those out for Santa, instead of cookies, you might get better presents 😉

Leave a Reply

